New Zealand

Country in Oceania

New Zealand (Under CC License)

New Zealand is a sovereign island country in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. The country geographically comprises two main landmasses—the North Island, and the South Island —and around 600 smaller islands. New Zealand is situated some 2,000 kilometres (1,200 mi) east of Australia across the Tasman Sea and roughly 1,000 kilometres (600 mi) south of the Pacific island areas of New Caledonia, Fiji, and Tonga. Because of its remoteness, it was one of the last lands to be settled by humans. During its long period of isolation, New Zealand developed a distinct biodiversity of animal, fungal, and plant life. The country's varied topography and its sharp mountain peaks, such as the Southern Alps, owe much to the tectonic uplift of land and volcanic eruptions. New Zealand's capital city is Wellington, while its most populous city is Auckland.

New Zealand News and Videos   LIVE

ℹ️ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets
Two light aircraft collided mid-air on their final approach at a regional aerodrome in New Zealand on Sunday killing both pilots, police said.
Credit: Reuters - Published 14 hours ago

Canada enjoy a comfortable 2-0 victory over New Zealand to secure their place in the last 16 of the World Cup.
23 hours ago • BBC News
Watch as New Zealand’s Erin Nayler produces an acrobatic ‘super save’ to stop Canada scoring a second.
23 hours ago • BBC News
An Australian man pleaded not guilty on Friday to 92 charges stemming from a massacre in two mosques in the New Zealand city of Christchurch three months ago and..
Credit: Reuters - Published 3 days ago

The Australian man accused of killing 51 worshippers at two mosques in New Zealand in March pleaded not guilty to all charges in court in Christchurch on Friday.
Credit: Reuters - Published 3 days ago

Suspected white supremacist Brenton Tarrant is expected to enter pleas, and will face a new terrorism charge, when he appears in court on Friday over the mass..
Credit: Reuters - Published 4 days ago

Warren Gatland rules out succeeding Eddie Jones as England coach and plans to return to his native New Zealand after leading the British and Irish Lions in 2021.
4 days ago • BBC News
'It happened very suddenly. I don't think he suffered at all', police say
Credit: Independent - Published 5 days ago

The body of a 49-year-old British hiker who went missing nearly two weeks ago on a mountain range in New Zealand was found on Wednesday, police said.
Credit: Reuters - Published 5 days ago

European champions the Netherlands score an injury-time winner to break New Zealand's resistance in their opening Women's World Cup match.
5 days ago • BBC News
Dutch midfielder Lieke Martens produces an "outrageous" piece of skill during their Women's World Cup opener against New Zealand.
5 days ago • BBC News
New Zealand on Tuesday said it had selected Lockheed Martin Corp's C-130J Super Hercules as the preferred replacement for five aging C-130 Hercules military..
Credit: Reuters - Published 6 days ago

New Zealand's Court of Appeal on Tuesday ordered the government to reassess its decision to extradite a man to China to face murder charges due to human rights..
Credit: Reuters - Published 6 days ago

The Megaupload founder hopes to stop his extradition from New Zealand to the US on copyright charges.
6 days ago • BBC News
England captain Sarah Hunter looks ahead to the Women's Rugby Super Series in San Diego that will include Canada, France, United States and New Zealand.
6 days ago • BBC News

You might like