Federal republic in Central Europe

Austria, officially the Republic of Austria, is a land-locked East Alpine country in the south part of Central Europe. It is composed of nine federated states (Bundesländer), one of which is Vienna, Austria's capital and its largest city. It is bordered by Germany to the northwest, the Czech Republic to the north, Slovakia to the northeast, Hungary to the east, Slovenia and Italy to the south, and Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west. Austria occupies an area of 83,879 km2 (32,386 sq mi) and has a population of nearly 9 million people. While German is the country's official language, many Austrians communicate informally in a variety of Bavarian dialects.

Austria News and Videos   LIVE

ℹ️ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets
Detectives fear suspected killer may have left country on morning after killing
Credit: Independent - Published 4 days ago

Austria's chancellor defends the young Bosnian-born Green minister trolled by far-right activists.
Credit: BBC News - Published 1 week ago

You might like